

IAEA Nuclear Data Section (NDS): Staff and Budget

A.J. Koning

33rd Meeting of International Nuclear Data Committee, March 29 – April 1 2021, IAEA, Vienna



Nuclear Data Section

Atomic and Molecular Data Unit

Nuclear Data Development Unit

Nuclear Data Services Unit



NDS Staff



Arjan Koning Section Head Rosalinda Rangel Alvarez Section Secretary



Atomic and Molecular Data Unit



Kalle Heinola Atomic Physicist



Christian Hill Unit Head



Ludmila Marian Scientific Data Manager



Marco Verpelli Nuclear Data Analyst Programmer



Nuclear Data Development Unit



Roberto Capote Noy

Unit Head



Paraskevi (Vivian) Dimitriou Nuclear Data Physicist



Kira Nathani Team Assistant



Georg Schnabel Nuclear Physicist (Codes Development)



Nuclear Data Services Unit



Charisse Monfero Team Assistant



Jean-Christophe Sublet Unit Head



Lidija Vrapcenjak Nuclear Data Services Assistant



Shin Okumura Associate Nuclear Data Physicist



Naohiko Otsuka Nuclear Data Physicist



Viktor Zerkin Software Engineer (Nuclear Data)

NDS staff movements: 2018-2020 60 Years

P-staff:

Kalle Heinola (AMDU): started in May 2018 Shin Okumura (NSDU): started in September 2018 Ludmila Marian (AMDU): started in April 2019 Vivian Dimitriou (NDDU): was rotated out in June 2019 Georg Schnabel (NDDU): started in January 2020 Andrej Trkov (NDDU): retired in January 2020 Vivian Dimitriou (NDDU): started in January 2021

G-staff:

Kira Nathani (NDDU): assignment in IAEA Publications Section, June 2019 to May 2020 was temporarily replaced by Mariam Yaney Alex Oechs (NDSU): retired in October 2019 Charisse Monfero (NDSU): started in March 2020

NDS consultants and interns 2018-2020

Consultants (> 1 month):

- 2019 Jan Malec: GANDR development
- 2018 Svetlana Selyankina: EXFOR compilation
- 2020 2021 Daniel Lopez Aldama: ENDF libraries and processing

Interns:

- 2018 Emanuel Chimanski: nuclear reaction modelling
- 2018 Takanari Fukuda: Fission yield EXFOR testing
- 2018 Testuaki Tada: EXFOR compilation
- 2018 Daichi Imazato: openMC
- 2018 2019 Natalie Gaughan: data for medical isotope production
- 2019 Ingrid Vavtar: k-eff benchmarking
- 2019 Mark Mawdsley: resonance parameters
- 2019 2020: Hiroki Kawada : photonuclear data



Analysis of NDS staff effort

Foreseen as stable throughout 2021-2023 (16.25 FTE)

- Next 2 retirements end of 2023
- Section Head has been granted a contract extension, until March 2024
- Will attempt to hire more consultants for 1-2 year period

Budget summary: 2018-2022



| | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 |
|---|-----------|-----------|-----------|-----------|-----------|
| Authorized Staff Level | 16.25 | 16.25 | 16.25 | 16.25 | 16.25† |
| Actual Staff Level | 15.25 | 16.25 | 14.25 | 15.25 | 16.25† |
| Salary + Agency O/H Support Costs(E) | 1 935 677 | 1 935 677 | 2 095 280 | 2 118 057 | 2 202 347 |
| Technical Programme(E) | 898 193 | 898 193 | 832 149 | 921 842 | 958 528 |
| Total (E) | 2 833 870 | 2 833 870 | 2 927 429 | 3 039 899 | 3 160 875 |

[†] estimated



INDC Members 2021-2024

Florencia Cantargi - ARGENTINA Tibor Kibedi – AUSTRALIA Brett Carlson – BRAZIL Ge Zhigang – CHINA Cyrille De Saint Jean – FRANCE Arnd Junghans – GERMANY Ferenc Tarkanyi – HUNGARY Umasankari Kannan – INDIA

Osamu Iwamoto – JAPAN Young-Ouk Lee – KOREA Vitaly Khryachkov – RUSSIA Deon Steyn – SOUTH AFRICA Enrique M. Gonzalez Romero – SPAIN Mark Gilbert – UK Michal W. Herman – USA (Chairman)

red-outgoing members, last meeting



Thank you!

